Friday, December 19, 2008

Dashing Thru the Snow!

This is me... dashing through the snow! And I'm better at it than I thought... although I have to work on stopping and rounding corners. Or have brakes installed. Mom called me a big wuss because I didn't wanna hang outside and play for very long. Dude - it's COLD out there... and in case she didn't notice, she's got socks and boots on her paws. My paws are NAKED! Plus she had on a hat and winter coat on top of all her regular clothes. Of course she wouldn't mind being outside.

Dad went out to plow and I think mom's tryign to work up the energy to do some more packing for the big move to our new house. I can't wait! Mom and dad showed me pictures on the new house but they say the pictures don't do it justice. I kinda wish we could move in sooner, but we have to wait. I gues I can do that -- I'm used to waiting. That's just what I do. I have to wait to be let outside. I have to wait for a treat. I have to wait to be let up on the couch. I have to wait for my food. All this waiting, you think I'd be good at it, but I'm not. Anyway, gonna wait for mom to take me out again and the snow is even deeper! The idiot they hire to make up stuff about the weather says that we're supposd to get an inch of snow every hour. But we don't have to believe that because he's just saying whatever he wants... that's his job. He just gets paid to stand there say anything as long as it has to do with the weather -- it doesn't even have to be true! And it usually isn't. Can you imagine that? Getting paid to lie? But I guess there's lots of jobs like that... politician, lawyer, con-artist, magician, sales person, fortune-teller, executive....

Thursday, December 11, 2008

... Missing Nuno...

I miss Nuno. I know it's probably hard for other canines to understand (except my best buds Bob & Tobey) but I really loved my feline brother... even though my behavior made others think otherwise. I guess it just goes to show you that there are certain things that are just pure instinct and that you can't always control instincts... no matter how hard you try.
Here's a picture of him. Wasn't he cute? See that blanket he's laying on in the pic? That's my blanket now. So now I always have Nuno with me.
Dad came home on Monday with Nuno's ashes. Even though we're not doing Christmas this year, he says for Christmas that he's going to get mom a special urn to put them in so that mom can have Nuno with her forever. Mom came home that night and just cried and cried and cried because she misses him so much. She cries alot when she she's home and she mopes. I try cheering her up.... but nothing works. If that is what having a broken heart does to you, I hope mine never breaks. Uh-oh.. she's crying again... I need to go give her some cuddles and do something stupid to make her laugh.

Friday, December 5, 2008

Trying to come back

There has been lots of concern over me not blogging lately. It's been rough at our house... you see, my big brother, Nuno, passed away just two days before Thanksgiving. Mom did not handle this very well. So not only were we all very sad and trying to manage our own grief, but we were all very worried about Mom and trying to take care of her. She's doing a little bit better... but I know her heart is broken. Dad tells me that things like that don't get fixed, that they stay broken. But over time the pain gets a little less and you only feel it from time to time. I think someone needs to find a cure for broken hearts...

Dad is going to take mom to some holiday fesitval thing tonight a couple of towns over... he's hoping to lift her spirits and get her in little bit in the Christmas spirit. I've told her that it's OK that we don't decorate the house this year or even get a tree... what's more important is that we are all together. Besides, tree or decorations or not, Santa will come. I wrote him a special note with a special request this year -- I told him I didn't want any cookies or toys or treats... just to make mom feel happy again. I hope Santa comes through for me. If he doesn't, I've got a can full of whoop-ass for him and his stinking elves next year... maybe a special batch of chocolate chip & arsenic cookies!